Home

I haven’t written a post for a while and I suppose that was to be expected.

Life has been pretty manic since I returned home but the memories I have of Japan and Yasuoka weave though my thoughts on a near daily basis. It is hard not to romanticise my experiences especially when the daily grind of the 9 – 5 kicks in, but I do find myself smiling and thinking wistfully, “I was being chased by a group of kids with dung beetles this time last year… *sigh*…”

I was really happy to receive letters from some of my students, in particular one really shy girl who  found it quite difficult to express herself not only to me, but also to her peers. We bonded over a shared appreciation of rock music, which I think is pretty cool.

As for the more mundane paper based necessities of moving back, I had to deal with all the accompanying tax issues of working abroad for less than a full UK tax year (urgh), but I have fortunately received my Japanese pension refund – even though the exchange rate is horrendous, I’m not complaining!

After a whirlwind of craziness, I currently find myself living in Canada! My husband applied for a job here, he got it, and so here I am writing to you from Halifax, Nova Scotia. Funny where life takes you…

I suppose that’s all. Good luck to all of those going to Japan as ALTs; whether as JETs, with Interac or however else.

As for me, I’m pretty sure Japan and I will meet again, but now, a new adventure beckons…

IMG_2943

One thought on “Reflection

Leave a comment